The Four Pillars of Learning

The Four Pillars of Learning

Teaching and Learning at Cavendish School is based around our Four Pillars of Learning: Challenge, Engagement, Feedback and Independent Learning. The concept of our pillars is consistent from EYFS through to Year 11, with its success criteria becoming more challenging as pupils mature.

Pre-School and Reception

Year 1 and 2

Year 3 and 4

Year 5,6 and Secondary

Our pupils and teachers created the pillars in 2016, based on John Hattie’s research on Effect Sizes (a leading researcher of education, who conducted extensive research into the influences of effective teaching and learning). The pillars underpin our:

  • Approach to learning
  • Planning of lessons
  • Reward system and competitions Assemblies
  • Monitoring systems